Motorola Motorola Cliq Sim Card Problem

Discussion in 'Android Chat' started by JoeyB, Sep 11, 2010.

  1. JoeyB

    JoeyB Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,670
    Likes Received:
    12
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (White)
    Hey guys, my dad got his hands on a Motorola Cliq, and I believe it's unlocked, as it says that it picks up AT&T and T-Mobile's cellular network. The only problem he has with it is that when he inserts his sim card it acts as if it's not inserted. He is using it on T-Mobile, we've googled and still can't find a solution.
    Any help?
    (I'm not sure if he has called customer support about it or not)
  2. metakirbyknight

    metakirbyknight New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Motorola Cliq is a T-Mobile exclusive phone.

    Have you unlocked it? rooted? custom rom? or any of the warranty voiding stuff?

    First, make sure you have your SIM (and SIM slot) in all the way, me and my dad had this problem and we thought his unlock was dead.

    If that fails, and you have voided the warranty, flash the stock rom. Or you know, if you haven't, just take it to T-Mobile.
  3. samw40

    samw40 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    1,186
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Make sure the sim card is inserted correctly and that there is no dust or obstructions...
  4. JoeyB

    JoeyB Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,670
    Likes Received:
    12
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (White)
    Well WE haven't unlocked it, but we do think it has been unlocked. I doubt it's rooted or that it has a custom rom on it. It's running Android. (I'm a complete nub at this stuff) All he did was take his SIM out of his iPhone and put it in the Cliq. I guess I'll tell him to call T-Mobile.
  5. metakirbyknight

    metakirbyknight New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, call them.

    Maybe try another SIM? It may be the phone?

    Does the SIM still work in the iPhone?
  6. JoeyB

    JoeyB Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,670
    Likes Received:
    12
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (White)
    Yea, it still works fine in the iPhone...
  7. metakirbyknight

    metakirbyknight New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you buy it from T-Mo? Or on eBay?

    Because you may have a damaged unit, but bring to the T-Mobile guys in a store and see what they can do.

Share This Page