Most accessories didn't work with 2G, do they work with 3G?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by iPhondTouch3G, Sep 16, 2009.

  1. iPhondTouch3G

    iPhondTouch3G Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    that^^^^^^^
  2. hi there

    hi there New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Depends what accessories you're talking about.
  3. Gershmer

    Gershmer Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,628
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Probably not, it's the firmware that blocks them.
  4. darthhomer12

    darthhomer12 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    ^^ not true at all
  5. _JKK_

    _JKK_ Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    9,514
    Likes Received:
    1,366
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    Is it, or is it the hardware? I'm not sure, that answer didn't sound right, but I didn't know...

    Do you?
  6. ryanangus

    ryanangus Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,609
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had some accessory problems, but they were all fixed with 2.2.1 for my 2nd Gen before I upgraded.

    As the only difference between the two generations is new CPU, GPU and RAM accessories aren't affected, unless they're too old

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  7. 4NewHop3

    4NewHop3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,443
    Likes Received:
    703
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    Not to put you down,flame you,or anything but there is already a thread asking this exact question...its just an outdates thread that was from before the release of this years iPod line...it was a thread from i think last month

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  8. darthhomer12

    darthhomer12 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    yah didnt mean to sound like a dick or anything, but my car stereo which has a built in iPod dock only worked with a 1g running 3.0 and not with my 2g running 3.0, lol and it really pissed me off. Same thing with one of those cheap wall chargers i bought from amazon so I'm pretty sure it's the hardware.
  9. sonoma

    sonoma New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I read somewhere that Apple changed the pin assignments for the dock connector, so that caused incompatibilities with docking stations and power adapters that use that connector. I think there was no change from the 2G to the 3G for this though.

Share This Page