Mobile internet

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by seamonster124, Nov 26, 2008.

  1. seamonster124

    seamonster124 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    can someone please tell me how I can get my ipod touch to display web pages like the real internet and not the mobile version? thank you
  2. sjleworthy

    sjleworthy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad w/ 3G
    99% of the pages i visit look visually identical on my Touch as they do on my desktop pc. i suppose it depends if the sites you visit have mobile versions. and if they do can you just switch them off back to traditional? (li8ke google for example)
  3. andyt4097

    andyt4097 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Well I know when you go to Google on your Touch, theres a link at the bottom that reads, Mobile or Regular. I prefer the mobile pages because they fit the screen so nicely.

    Anyway, I'm not sure you have the option to choose. I think some pages that appear in mobile format do so because they read the version of your browser, which in the Touch's case, is a mobile format of Safari, so the sites automatically load in a mobile format.
  4. seamonster124

    seamonster124 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for you help.

    when I first got the ipod I went to www.colbertnation.com and it looked just like it does on my PC. now, for some reason its the mobile version. theres no link to view the classic version

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  5. andyt4097

    andyt4097 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    In that case, I'm not sure how to revert to the classic version if no link is present. I'm thinking that there is some part of the site that reads your browser type, and thats how it decides what version to display.
  6. ShadowKing

    ShadowKing Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad
    Sometimes they put a M or mobile some where in think link when the page loads. Sometimes you can just delete that.

Share This Page