Minimalistic Touch, Few Apps, Java Only

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X Jailbreak' started by Replogle, Nov 23, 2008.

1. Replogle

Replogle New Member

Hello,

Forgive me, I'm new to the Touches as well as iPod Touch Fans Forum, so if this topic has been brought before then I apologize. I tried an extensive search on the topic but came up empty.

Is it possible to remove all unnecessary pre-installed apps and have my Touch be a Java-only device? If no, is there a JB "minimization" app, which, among other things, will remove unused apps like "Stocks" or "Weather"?

Thank you!
  2. Teslanaut

Teslanaut Well-Known Member

Device:
    4G iPod touch
    If you wanted an All Java device, why did you get the iPhone/iPod Touch? Java is dirt. If you want to remove Stocks and Weather, you'll need to jailbreak, find the correct directory, and remove those two apps.
  3. Jarlath

Jarlath Retired Moderator

Note to OP: the Apple iPod Touch and iPhone do not run Java. If you want a Java-capable device, you need to be looking at something else like a Motorola phone which does. Beyond that, you -can- hide those things on the SpringBoard (Stocks, Weather, etc) or just move them from the first SpringBoard screen to another one so your 'home' screen isn't cluttered up.
  4. geiman

geiman New Member

Device:
    iPod touch
    Actually, there used to be java runtimes for the ipod back with the 1.1.x jailbreaks, however I'm not sure if they were ever ported. Remember all those great features we used to have, ie.. jiggy, ruby, etc.. I believe java was one of them, and in fact I'm almost 100% positive because I ran some school projects on it just as a proof of concept.

EDIT: Checkout the java section under cydia, java runtimes are still there.
  5. Atl

Atl New Member

Device:
    iPhone 3GS (White)
    On my Jailbroken 2.1, I poofed out all the useless apps and now I only have one page with 12 icons I use daily, or are important, and my dock (which is only the calendar app).