iOS 3.1 memory problems..?

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by devcam, Jan 28, 2010.

  1. devcam

    devcam New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    I'm baa-aaack!
    And I'm still on my neverending (or so it seems..) quest to fix my iPod problem.

    It's always crashing, and today it crashed three times, for no real reason.

    I've tried and tried to figure out why (and no, it's not because my iPod dies or gets turned off. I know the jailbreak is tethered..) but since that's come to no avail,
    I'll make this a little easier on all of us.

    I was wondering if this is a memory problem, and since I don't understand a whole lot of the RAM, MB, KB crap, here's some screenies for you to look at and help me figure out what could be wrong.

    Pretty Please and thank you!

    (sbsettings)

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    (all the apps I have)

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    (I have infinidock, that's why the docks are a little different on each pic)

    (Cydia's report of my storage)

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    (and last, but not least, mobilesubstrate)

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Thanks to everyone!

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  2. ChrisL

    ChrisL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    159
    Hmm, 150mb of free ram (total of 256mb) is actually really good. Compared to the previous generations, most people have around.. 35-50mb free. Not really sure what your problem is, but I recommend restoring and see if the problem persists.

    Edit: What's PreferenceLoader? SupremePreferences?
  3. devcam

    devcam New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Aww, well thanks.
    I've restored twice, so no more restores for me.
    I've even switched from Rock, which causes ten times the amount of crashes Cydia did.
    Anyway, I'll probably just wait until greenp0ison comes out.
    Rumors say that'll be around June or so, but you know how rumors go..

    As for PreferenceLoader, I think that's just something Cydia or Winterboard installed.
  4. kewlgreen

    kewlgreen Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Do you have more than one package (cydia) application installed?
  5. devcam

    devcam New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    All the apps I have are on the screen, sans the few I hid (MakeItMine, and extra standard Apple apps I don't use).

    But to answer your question: no, I only have Cydia.
    I did have Rock and Cydia at one time, but that just increased the crashing,
    so I restored twice in a row (someone told me that doing that completely rids the jailbreak, since sometimes things can get left over..).

    My iPod crashed earlier today, but that could have been the battery, although I question that.
    The battery was at 55% and my iPod just goes ka-put.
    Blaaah.
  6. ChrisL

    ChrisL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    159
    Try keeping your iPod unjailbroken for awhile, and see if it continues crashing.
  7. kewlgreen

    kewlgreen Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    When you restore, do you restore a backup after? or set it up as a new ipod?
  8. jupa

    jupa New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Yeah, to insure that everything that may causing the crashes gets erased try restoring in DFU, and do not restore to a backup. Set it up as a new ipod.
  9. devcam

    devcam New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Nope.
    I set it up as a new iPod every time, always have.
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    It does.

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Someone told me to install redsn0w, but I'm not sure what good it'll do.
    I did a little research, but not enough to download it just yet.
  10. ChrisL

    ChrisL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    159
    Then you should bring it back to Apple. Make sure there's no traces of it being jailbroken left.

Share This Page