Maybe I'm just an idiot?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by TouchMichael, Feb 16, 2010.

1. TouchMichael

TouchMichael New Member

Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Hi Folks,

First post here. I'm a newbie to the Mac world basically.

I now have an iPod Touch 8G and don't even know if it is a 2G or 3G because it doesn't say anywhere on the device or the packaging.

I have some basic questions.

I would like to know how I can import straight text files into the iPod so that they can be read and edited on the iPod.
    Seems straight forward, but I can't see anywhere how to do this.

Also how can I copy some text from one app into another app on my iPod? Since I can't see a way to have two apps open at the same time maybe this is impossible? I would like to do the above without an internet connection, because most of the time I don't have one when using my iPod.

And finally, how can I view the files on my iPod, to make copies of them, transfer them etc.? You know, sort of like using Windows Explorer on the PC, or Norton Commander, or Total Commander etc.

Thanks!
  2. fastflame750

fastflame750 Member

Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Hey Michael! Welcome to the forums

If you are not sure whether your 8GB iPod Touch is 2nd or 3rd Generation, check the model number, by going to Settings -> General -> About, if the first two letters of it are "MC", then you're iPod is third generation.

As far as text editing goes, I would recommend getting an app on the App Store for that. Personally, the two best are "Quick Office" and "Docstogo". With those applications, you can edit and create Word and Excel documents.

To copy and paste text, you have to make sure you have OS 3.0, again, if you are not sure what firmware you have, go to Settings -> General -> About, and look at the version number. If it is 3.0 or higher you have the copy and paste feature.