maxtor external hdd help

Discussion in 'Computing, Science, and Technology' started by SmexyPenguin18, Jul 1, 2009.

  1. SmexyPenguin18

    SmexyPenguin18 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    My uncle gave me a maxtor external harddrive like a year ago. It worked when he gave it to me but then i havn't used it for a while and it won't appear it windows and in ubuntu it shows in /media but is unable to mount it. So i took the actual hardrive out of the case and hooked it up to something like this. but still didn't show. With this usb thing should the drive be a slave or master? And any other help is appreciated

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Thanks
  2. Cheat_Code

    Cheat_Code Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone
    Try both then try cable select. which is no pin if i rember correctly....
  3. SmexyPenguin18

    SmexyPenguin18 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    i tried them all cable select didn't even make that noise when you plug something in but master and slave do
  4. Cheat_Code

    Cheat_Code Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone
    Try to format it it sounds like its corrupted......use ubuntu to format it......
  5. SmexyPenguin18

    SmexyPenguin18 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Could I format it in ubuntu without it being mounted?
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    Ok figured it out thanks anyway. It didn't have a format(iguess that you call it like ntfs or fat/32) So i used gparted to format it to fat32.
  6. Romulus

    Romulus New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Just curious, What drew you to the decision of FAT32 over NTFS?
  7. SmexyPenguin18

    SmexyPenguin18 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    In linux you can't write to ntfs (you can but still experimental and buggy)and i'll be using this between to a ubuntu machine and one with vista.
  8. Romulus

    Romulus New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Ah, I see. I've never had issues with the ntfs-config. Seems like once upon a time there was a full tutorial in easy to follow with the common user in mind( not calling you a common user by any means, as I have no idea of your expertise.) But I could understand taking procautionary measurements with valuable data that's not easily replaced.
  9. Nburnes

    Nburnes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,022
    Likes Received:
    767
    Device:
    OnePlus One
    I've always been fine with writing to NTFS with my Ubuntu?

Share This Page