Maps.app in UK

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 1.1.3 Discussions' started by simonrichards150, Jan 16, 2008.

  1. simonrichards150

    simonrichards150 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,058
    Likes Received:
    94
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Why cant the new 1.1.3 Maps app find my location?

    I just upgraded, paid £12.99 or whateverr

    And I just pressed the locate me button and it said couldnt determine my location

    This is bullsh*t

    Im in the UK in London

    Apple freakin suck

    Can anyone help me with this?

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  2. trescool

    trescool New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch


    Same problem here in cork city Ireland

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  3. IKON

    IKON New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe it's work in progress in Europe (the mapping of hotspots that is).
  4. swillard8

    swillard8 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    11
    um hey, how did you get to buy it? i am having problems buying it. i have 1.1.3 and symced, but it says i cannot buy until i have synced and checked for updates.

    ps. on the apple uk itunes store it does say service may not be available in certain areas.
  5. owie007

    owie007 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    7
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)

    same problem here in Sheffield!
  6. simonrichards150

    simonrichards150 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,058
    Likes Received:
    94
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Well first I restored to 1.1.1 (just to test a theory), but then i got the update prompt and i updated to 1.1.3. Then I get the update page in front of me. I click buy, and it downloads. Then it syncs my ipod and the apps are there. Thats all I did.

    And about the google maps. who would think that the capital city would be one of those 'certain areas'??

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  7. cameleon1267

    cameleon1267 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    same problem here in japan. location doesn't work. They better hurry to update their database.
    I am bit off tokyo so I will try next weekend near a hotspot.

    I think this has already been asked but does the location only work with public hotspot or can google manage to locate with private wifi ?

Share This Page