MAP APP. is not working? "Your location could not be determined"

Discussion in 'iPod touch 1.1.3 Application Compatibility' started by xdarkdragonx01, Jan 28, 2008.

  1. xdarkdragonx01

    xdarkdragonx01 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    i tried using the MAP app. but, it saids "Your location could not be determined" ><"
    can anyone help me?
  2. Led

    Led Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,975
    Likes Received:
    1
    It's okay. Sometimes that happens. I think (i'm not 100% sure) that maps triagulates your location meaning that you need 3 networks open or something.
  3. xdarkdragonx01

    xdarkdragonx01 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0

    3 networks open?
    what do you mean?
  4. Gaming Warrior

    Gaming Warrior New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    12
    That function doesn't work on the iPod Touch. its an iphone only function as it uses mobile towers to get your position.
  5. xdarkdragonx01

    xdarkdragonx01 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0

    are you serious..

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  6. Nawz

    Nawz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    It works on ipodtouchmasters ipod.. on touch it just uses wifi, iphone its wifi/cell tower
  7. Loudmouth2332

    Loudmouth2332 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    iPod touch
    DUDE total mis-informations there. STOP POSTING BAD INFORMATION

    This totally works with an ipod. but not everywhere. It has to be mapped out wifi hot spots. Depending on where you are in the country, the company that apple worked with on this might not has covered you area yet. It works just no everywhere. I did it today and it was only about a 1/2 mile off from my actual location. I know others who have gotten it down to their house.
  8. Kentric

    Kentric New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    The iPod uses wireless networks in order to triangulate your position, as opposed to cell towers for the iPhone. Whoever said that the function doesn't work on the iPod is mistaken.

    Based on the information from the Skyhook website (the company that provides the locate service), you need at least 3 wireless networks in your immediate vicinity for the locate function to work properly on your iPod. Mine doesn't work at my house since there's no one else with wireless that lives within 200-300 feet of me, but I tested it on the way home from school today on a street with access to 5 individual wireless networks and it worked. The wireless version is supposedly accurate to within 20 meters or so and the accuracy may increase with the number of available nearby wireless networks (mine was accurate to within maybe 5-10 feet, probably due to the fact that there were 5 networks available)
  9. johnnypuffs

    johnnypuffs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    this worked for me on 1.1.3 before jailbreak but now does not. All my neighbors have wifi as well. My whole area seems well covered on the website where you check it. Anyone else have this happen only after jb ??
  10. chaurjyh

    chaurjyh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Seriously, there's another method which it uses to determine your location other than the mobile tower triangulation and wifi hotspot triangulation....

    It uses Geo-IP... identity of ur IP is retrieved and then the associated address is used as the location of where u r... very accurate i muz say... located me straight to my block of flats...

Share This Page