Manual Application Removal thru SSH

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by Sarcoise, Mar 10, 2010.

1. Sarcoise

Sarcoise New Member

Device:
    3G iPod touch
    This is kinda a two part question. I wanted to remove some of those lame games that you download for free thru Cydia or Rock and was unable to do so from the springboard "wiggle" routine. After googling and only coming up with the "Remove any applications installed via Cydia thru Cydia/Manage/Packages" routine (which did not work, the games i had d/led were not listed here) I decided to try it on my own. I needed to do a restore anyways.

Well, I SSH'd into my iPod, dug thru the directory structure till I found what I was looking for and removed the entire folder.
    /private/var/stash/Applications.Woah6J/(app. name)

Immediately afterwards, the icon still sat on the springboard, although tapping it did nothing. Then a strange thing happened: The icon magically disappeared in front of my eyes!

I'm new to Unix/MacOS. But I know from Windows experience that files never just magically remove themselves after seeing they are unwanted. Even if some remnants were just housed in a cache or registry somewhere, they are still there.

My question is

1) Is this an accepted method of removing unwanted applications? Did I actually remove the entire application?

and...

2) Why was I unable to remove the app through Cydia/Manage/Packages in the manner that was being shuved down my throat on so many websites?

Thanks in advance for your replies. I managed to pull off jailbreaking and the many joys that come with it based from post solely on this website. I had never seen it down nor knew anyone that had done it.

Some bckgrnd info..

iPod Touch 3.1.2, Late 2009.
    BlackRa1n'd
    32g

Please Register or Log in to view images

2. studangerous

studangerous Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)