Make iPod Touch an iPhone

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by benny679, Aug 10, 2010.

  1. benny679

    benny679 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone
    I don't mean look like one, I mean be one. SIM card adapter? Whats chips would you need? Special antennae? How would we get the iphone firmware on the touch. Could we just port the phone app or messaging app to it?

    What do you think? Some people just don't want to pay for a damn data plan. Why pay if you could buy a cheap AT&T or T-Mobile phone and pop the card out, put it in your itouch.
  2. Theodosius

    Theodosius Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,071
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPad 3
    Do you mean something like this?
  3. benny679

    benny679 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone
    Sortof,

    1. that case is ugly
    2. I have a first gen touch
  4. bubs58

    bubs58 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    2
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Your asking for alot but its do-able, do you mean like somehow attach a 3g network or for use just over wifi?
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    Also, under your avatar it says you have 4.0 jailbroken, yet you have a 1g device?

    I was under the impression that 1st generations couldnt upgrade to 4.0, i couls be mistakentho..
  5. jotokun

    jotokun Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    59
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    http://www.ifans.com/blog/6915/

    Its not on the market yet, but there's enough evidence around that its not vaporware. It allows you to use your phone on any GSM network with a sim card, apps are installed through jailbreaking. Only supports voice and sms, no 3G. Works with all three generations of ipod touches.
  6. HeadReaper

    HeadReaper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,348
    Likes Received:
    679
    Device:
    OnePlus One
    They can't. They just put it to put it.
  7. benny679

    benny679 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone
    Modded 3.1.3. I actually got rid of the mod, it sucked. Now Im running 3.1.2 with android dual boot.

Share This Page