Make Firefox act like an Ipod Touch

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Gaming Warrior, Dec 19, 2007.

  1. Gaming Warrior

    Gaming Warrior New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    12
    This guide will Show you how to make Firefox act as an ipod Touch browser. It can be used to go to sites which would other wise redirect you for not using an ipod touch.

    Step 1) Download and install 'User Agent Switch'
    Step 2) Go to Tools > User Agent Switcher > Options >Options...
    Step 3) On the side click User Agents then click 'Add'
    Step 4) Now in Description Put 'iPod Touch' and in User Agent put 'Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en)' and click OK
    Step 5) Now all you need to do is go to 'Tools > User Agent Switcher > iPod Touch' When you wish to go to a page which other wise would stop you if not using an iPod touch

    You can also change 'Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en)' to 'Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en)' if you wish to go to a iPhone only page
  2. Alexpb

    Alexpb New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    User Agent Switcher is a good add-on. I've been using it for a while to access a forum where you are supposed to pay to get in. However i put my user agent as google bot, which makes them think i'm not a real person so it lets me in

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  3. Gaming Warrior

    Gaming Warrior New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    12
    whats the User agnet to make yourself look like a google bot?
  4. Ryuukumori

    Ryuukumori New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    2
    What? I never knew there are forums that you have to pay real cash to use!

    What's so good about paid forums?
  5. DerekVOF

    DerekVOF Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,375
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPod touch
    <cough>p0rn<cough>
  6. Alexpb

    Alexpb New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    lol no wasn't porn.
    I used to play BF2 (Battlefield 2). I found some lame site where they tried to charge you for using their hack www.msxsecurity.com it's gone now though.
    Anyways they wanted you to pay and told you it was just for "forum access" and not for their hack.

    I wasn't willing to pay money just to mess around with a hack for an hour or so.
    So i used the user agent for the google bot and the forum suddenly let me in lol.
    So i browsed their forum for free and downloaded their files.

    BTW to the person who was asking how to get the google bot. You just go to google and type in user-agent list or something along those lines. Then simply copy/paste the list into a file with the .xml extension and go to Import in the firefox addon and add that file. Than you just choose the google bot from the list and you're good.
  7. yoyoyo

    yoyoyo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice!! You posed as google bot!
  8. Danls92

    Danls92 Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    209
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Yeah, I do this once in a while to check out ipod websites that user a useragent to determine whether your using a computer or an ipod.

Share This Page