Main script execution failed

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by AllSystemGo, Apr 30, 2008.

  1. AllSystemGo

    AllSystemGo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    All that I would like to know is what does the error Main script exeuction failed mean exactly??? A bad package ??? Everytime I press the Update I get that message!!

    Cheers!
  2. x6blues

    x6blues New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    113
    If you are only getting it with an app from one source then it could mean this.

    If it is with all apps you try to download it could mean:
    • Application Space Limit: Your App Space Limit has been reached
      *Delete some apps via SSH and then install Bosstool or run the commands here
    • Clear Your Queues
      *Go into Installer and Click on a package/app and then select to clear your queues
    • Installer Permissions: Installer permissions aren't set to 4755
      *Run this commands chmod 4755 /Applications/Installer.app/Installer
    This should resolve the issue. gl

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  3. xpronic

    xpronic New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    What does 4755 do, is it the same as just putting 755? I am using iPhone PC Suite and I have Installer permissions set to 755:

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Is that correct? My wireless router isn't working atm, so I'm forced to use my N95 as a wifi hotspot which doesn't work with WinSCP.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  4. x6blues

    x6blues New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    113
    No, with installer it must be set at 4755. Other apps usually are for 755, but Installer requires 4755. I would need to look into the specifics, but 4755 deals with the program being executed properly...
  5. Daedalus

    Daedalus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Mine works fine and it's 6755...
  6. xpronic

    xpronic New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do I set it to 4755? I have mobile terminal installed if that is of any use.
  7. dp4c

    dp4c New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    after trying various fixes setting al kinds of permissions and replacing installer.app and still no result........... restored and jailbroke again!! works!!!
  8. adamnu

    adamnu New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    tried everything imaginable and this stupid error keeps coming up...I really don't want to jailbreak again...any other fixes?
  9. MTRadio

    MTRadio New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah guys! This is honestly pissin me off. Im sick of the god damn error ive restored 3 times so far because of it. Seriously anything other then a replacment or premissions.?
  10. adamnu

    adamnu New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    ^ it kept happening to you even after restoring?

Share This Page