macbook RAM

Discussion in 'Mac & OS X' started by uber hax, Dec 26, 2008.

  1. uber hax

    uber hax Guest

    on the 2.4ghz macbook, is it worth another $135 for 2g more ram? i know if i buy a mac it will be fully loaded with programs so RAM will be needed. i have 512mb ram now, and i get by with it, and 2g ram on a new computer would be great, i was just wondering if that extra ram is worth it. is 4g ram overkill, is pretty much what i am asking.

    oh, and on a side note, does anyone know where i can get a college discount other than $50 off at apple.com?
  2. thechungster

    thechungster Super Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6,886
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Really does depend on what you are planning to do with your MacBook. I have 2GB RAM on my BlackBook and it runs smoothly with Photoshop open. Obviously because it's DDR3 on the new one, it's better. I wouldn't buy RAM from Apple, but rather from online.
  3. SmoothTroopa

    SmoothTroopa Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPad 2 (Black)
    well if you got spare moeny then this fraze is for you:
    You can never have to much RAM
  4. kevin1st

    kevin1st Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,018
    Likes Received:
    26
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    i would go to 4gb. im upgrading my imac (got yesterday) from 1 gig to 4gb cause it just makes it run faster and for $40 plus easy to install = total win for me.
  5. uber hax

    uber hax Guest

    where are you finding RAM that cheap kevin?

    here is what would be running at a given moment at most on my mac:

    Firefox
    Photoshop
    Limewire/Transmission
    Adium
    Jaadu Connect
    VNC

    on my 512mb ram i have i can run Photoshop, firefox, and vuze. anything more, my fan kicks on, CPU goes to 100%, and i get warnings about low virtual memory. I did fing 2gigs of ram for 60 bucks online, rather than 135, now it seems reasonable.
  6. hotwater10

    hotwater10 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,587
    Likes Received:
    26
    Nahhh...I think your fine how you are.
  7. Blaze_Blaster

    Blaze_Blaster Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPod touch
    well replace transmission for u*******, and you might save a bit.
  8. mrfajita

    mrfajita New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    If it is the unibody (aluminum) macbook, it takes DDR3, which you can get 2GB way cheaper than the upgrade through apple. If it is the older one, it is DDR2 which you can get WAYY cheaper than apple's upgrade.

    Go to Newegg.com
  9. uber hax

    uber hax Guest

    I found RAM at crucial.com. Newegg doesn't guarantee comparability though.
  10. SeeFreaky

    SeeFreaky New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Wait, if you have the 2.4 ghz macbook, why do you only have 512 mb ram?
    I'm assuming it's either an unibody or an early 2008 macbook. If it's a unibody, shouldn't it have 2 gb ram stock, and if it's the early 2008 macbook, shouldn't it also have 1gb ram stock?

Share This Page