Macbook RAM upgrade? Help meeee! :)

Discussion in 'Mac & OS X' started by peebrian202869, Jul 16, 2010.

  1. peebrian202869

    peebrian202869 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,061
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Hello people,

    I have the new white MacBook, late 2009, ( not the pro =[ ) and since it hasn't got enough RAM, well... i want to get some more!

    My questions;

    1. How much RAM can it actually handle, apple claims only 4gig can be used with it, how much have you used? Is 4gig only the highest that they sell it with and it can take more?

    2. How exactly would i go about installing? I've been watching some YouTube video's and it looks pretty straight forward but i just wanted to know from someone from maybe personal experience.

    3. For gaming (thats not the main reason i want the extra RAM) would it take a big impact on games' speed or would i also need a better video card/what-ever-it's-called ?

    4. Where is the either most reliable or cheapest place to buy the actual RAM?

    5. Is this whole thing even possible?

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Thanks for taking your time to read this!

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  2. BlackBurningIce

    BlackBurningIce New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    There's actually a few things. The 4gb may actually be the limit it can handle since my laptop can only hold 2gb but more is sold. A couple things you need to keep in mind

    1. Find out if you have DDR2 or DDR3 (if that doesn't make since it doesn't have to they just need to match what's already in your computer)

    2. Installing is as straightforward as plugging stuff in except inside your computer.

    3. There are a few websites that can help you i can recommend newegg but the actual link will be removed.

    Anything else I can help and other people probably can too.
  3. peebrian202869

    peebrian202869 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,061
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    1. What's DDR2/3 and how can i tell? Take it out? I also have no idea what the bold bit meant...

    2. Good! It looked quite simple ^.^

    3. I'll check it out then

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    I posted this on macrumors and i get nothing, i post it here and KAPOW!

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Thanks!
  4. BlackBurningIce

    BlackBurningIce New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Your computer came with either DDR2 or DDR3 RAM. They are different speeds. What I meant is that if your computer has DDR2 you need to get DDR2. If you have DDR3 then you need to get DDR3. I just checked and the new macbooks have DDR3 but late 2009 I'm not sure. I'm not sure if this will tell you I haven't actually used a mac in a while but try going to the apple on your mac (top bar far left) and go to "about my mac" or something similar.
  5. peebrian202869

    peebrian202869 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,061
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    DDR3!

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    OK, so i know what type of memory i need, now does anyone know the limits?
  6. Number8

    Number8 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    4GB is the max according to Apples website. Why do you need more than 4gb?
  7. BlackBurningIce

    BlackBurningIce New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    yea 4gb is plenty unless you do stuff like video editing (after effects eats it up really fast).
  8. peebrian202869

    peebrian202869 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,061
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    What about running virtual machines aswell as using snow leopard and switching back and fourth without powering down the virtual machine?
  9. Number8

    Number8 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Why do you need to run a virtual machine? Also just don't give it that much ram. Give the VM like 1gb of ram and you're left with 3gb for your actual machine.
  10. peebrian202869

    peebrian202869 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,061
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Ok then, how do i know what memory to buy?

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    ^ WTF? ^

    Attached Files:

Share This Page