MacBook hard drive?

Discussion in 'Mac & OS X' started by Cheat_Code, Jun 15, 2009.

  1. Cheat_Code

    Cheat_Code Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone
    Ok, i have a black macbook 2006 model and it has a tiny 120gb hard drive. i would like to put the bigest hard drive possable in it. but when i go to the sata portion of the hardware specs it says its 1.5gb/s.



    Code:
    Intel ICH7-M AHCI:
    
      Vendor:	Intel
      Product:	ICH7-M AHCI
      Speed:	1.5 Gigabit
      Description:	AHCI Version 1.10 Supported
    
    TOSHIBA MK1234GSX:
    
      Capacity:	111.79 GB
      Model:	TOSHIBA MK1234GSX
      Revision:	AH008B
      Serial Number:	37LHT0XXT
      Native Command Queuing:	Yes
      Queue Depth:	8
      Removable Media:	No
      Detachable Drive:	No
      BSD Name:	disk0
      Mac OS 9 Drivers:	No
      Partition Map Type:	GPT (GUID Partition Table)
      S.M.A.R.T. status:	Verified
      Volumes:
    Macintosh HD:
      Capacity:	111.47 GB
      Available:	18.97 GB
      Writable:	Yes
      File System:	Journaled HFS+
      BSD Name:	disk0s2
      Mount Point:	/


    What is the biggest hard drive i can put in here?
    Thanks,
    Cheat
  2. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Hun, that's the Speed. Not storage. I believe you can put up to 500 GB.
  3. jimbeam

    jimbeam Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,694
    Likes Received:
    12
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    1.5gb/s refers to the SATA controler. You can put as big a HDD in it as you want. Thats just transfer speed. Should not matter. No SSD though, well maybe but it would be slow and not worth it.
  4. Cheat_Code

    Cheat_Code Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone
    Well see i know the controler supports 1.5gb/s but i found out that the hard drive im looking at is 3.0gb/s i didnt know if it would work or not in this mac?

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  5. jimbeam

    jimbeam Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,694
    Likes Received:
    12
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Well the new macbooks come with 1.5/sata 1 controlers, actually 3.0/SATA 2controlers clocked down to 1.5 via FW and the hard drives must be 3.0 because they dont make 1.5gb/s HDD's anymore (as far as I know) So it should work. If not return it or play it safe and look for one at 1.5
  6. Cheat_Code

    Cheat_Code Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone
    well i would really hope that i could use it with out problems........Do you know if there would be anyone besides apple i could contact on this information because i was wanting this
    and i dont think i can return it?
  7. jimbeam

    jimbeam Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,694
    Likes Received:
    12
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Ebay is blocked at work, so I cant look at it now and I'm not sure who else to ask. I'm sure anyone at apple would just say "no you can't" and insist that you have to get a new macbook.

    If it doesnt work just buy an encloser and use it as an external or sell it again if they dont take it back. I wouldnt buy one from ebay myself though.
  8. Cheat_Code

    Cheat_Code Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone

Share This Page