Mac Pro GTX295?

Discussion in 'Console & PC Gaming' started by ZunePod, Jul 20, 2009.

  1. ZunePod

    ZunePod Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    My friend just got his Mac Pro 8-core, I'm jealous of him so much

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    He asked me a question about it, and I don't know much about it, so I googled, and no solid evidence.

    Is it possible to put a GTX295 in a Mac Pro and use it in Leopard?

    If not, what's the highest rate card you can put in, and does SLi/CrossFire work with a Mac Pro?

    Thanks guys.
  2. Led

    Led Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,975
    Likes Received:
    1
    Punch him in the face for getting a Mac Pro for gaming. Guy's an idiot.
  3. ZunePod

    ZunePod Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    He actually got a good deal, I offered to make a Hackint0sh, but he said it was illegal lol.
  4. eric_chaos

    eric_chaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,746
    Likes Received:
    35
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    It is illegal. For the most part, you are downloading a copy of OS X.
  5. Nburnes

    Nburnes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,022
    Likes Received:
    767
    Device:
    OnePlus One
    Unless you get a boot 132 CD and a legally bought copy of OS X on your machine, even then all you have to do it put an Apple sticker on your machine and the box it came in.
  6. ZunePod

    ZunePod Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    See below

    Technically not a Hackint0sh, I was gonna do it this way, or maybe just bspatch out the bootcd.
  7. Nburnes

    Nburnes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,022
    Likes Received:
    767
    Device:
    OnePlus One
    Its still a hackint0sh.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  8. tgluak

    tgluak New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    I know EVGA makes a Mac EFI GTX285
    http://www.evga.com/articles/00479/

    SLI and Crossfire are a no no. Chipset doesn't support it and Apple wouldn't allow it. Meaning 295 probably won't work because its SLI on one card.
  9. ZunePod

    ZunePod Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Wow, cool.

    But when you configure the Mac Pro on the website, you can have 4 GT120s. These are not in SLi?
  10. tgluak

    tgluak New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Pretty much, so when you game you only have 1 GT120 working

Share This Page