Mac OS 8 or 9 on iPod Touch?

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by Tigercat212, Feb 14, 2009.

  1. Tigercat212

    Tigercat212 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I have Mini vMac and I was wondering if this application, or if any application for the iPod Touch could run either Mac OS 8 or Mac OS 9.

    Can anyone help me?
  2. Axis

    Axis Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6,288
    Likes Received:
    133
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    Why?

    This isn't possible, anyway. Even if it were, what could you accomplish with it?
  3. Tigercat212

    Tigercat212 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Why isn't it possible? How much RAM does OS 8 require? I'm not really looking to accomplish anything, I just think it would very cool to have a relatively recent Mac OS on your iPod.
  4. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    11 years is not recent.

  5. Tigercat212

    Tigercat212 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    But the iPod Touch 2G seems to fit all those requirements besides the processor, but doesn't it have a powerful enough processor? Couldn't it run?
  6. breakkdown

    breakkdown Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,225
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPod touch
    I think he meant more recent than Mac OS 7...
  7. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    There is a difference between the ARM architecture and the POWER architecture. It would have to emulate it and then operate the OS on top of that. I doubt the iPod Touch's CPU has enough power for that.

Share This Page