Lost all my sources and packages in cydia

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by BlueThunderCloud, Dec 21, 2009.

  1. BlueThunderCloud

    BlueThunderCloud New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I lost all my packages and sources in cydia. I was downloading a new sources and it mucked up. After that, all my sources got wiped out. If there is ANY way to get them all back, please do say so.
    If not, could I just get a list of the default sources? Or is there a way to reset cydia?
  2. Cl8rs

    Cl8rs Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,760
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I had the same problem, and am still looking for a solution. I just reinstalled Cydia with Blackra1n, it got the default sources back, but my packages are still gone.

    Just curious was the source you were trying to add the iAccess source?

    EDIT I'm restoring

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  3. Smithy

    Smithy New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Try navigating to "cydia-sources.list" in /private/var/lib/dpkg/info in ifile and editing it, deleting the last source you added and saving it, and then re-opening cydia. It worked for me.
  4. cheeseyogurtmonkey

    cheeseyogurtmonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    smae thing happened to me. ssh into var/lib/apt/lists and delete everything EXCEPT partial. i dont really understand it but after i opened up cydia a few times it readded all of my sources.
  5. Azures

    Azures New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same problem but from a different issue.
    Problem: I ran an update on some cydia apps and it crashed during install, after a reboot I had no cydia sources, packages, or anything installed. All my cydia apps were on my phone and worked, they just weren't listed in cydia, including the default ones.

    Solution: I did some browsing around and came across cydia.log located at /var/tmp/ which told me the following:

    2011-01-10 17:08:00.930 MobileCydia[154:613] Setting Language: en
    cache_.Open():[dpkg was interrupted, you must manually run 'dpkg --configure -a' to correct the problem. ]

    I then went to mobileterminal and entered:
    SU
    <your password, default is alpine>
    dpkg --configure -a

    I saw some stuff happening related to the failed app install... went back to cydia and everything was back in working order!
    Hope this helps!
  6. maxxdout

    maxxdout Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    11
    Same thing happened to me. It was only temporary, lasted a few hours. Everything came back on their own within a few hours.

    Just be patient and wait for it. You don't have to restore

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  7. wckdness

    wckdness Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,317
    Likes Received:
    52
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    Same thing happened to me at one point, but it fixed itself after.
  8. dennis96411

    dennis96411 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    I just did what you said, and everything came back! W00t! So what are those files? Like the cache of all the repo?
  9. Ol Dirty

    Ol Dirty New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Azures' post explains my situation exactly. From the problem to the fix.
    Thanks for the post Azures!
  10. jodogg7ny

    jodogg7ny New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Azures suggestions worked perfectly

    Thanks Azures!

Share This Page