Lose all Apps when upgrading firmware??

Discussion in 'iPod touch 1.1.x Jailbreak' started by kappatango, Jan 4, 2008.

  1. kappatango

    kappatango New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi,

    I hope this hasn't been asked before - I have searched for ages and not found the answer I need ( well not that I could understand anyway

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    )

    I have a successful jailbroken 8gb running 1.1.2 - all good....

    When (IF) we have a 1.1.3 patched and good to upgrade, how do I do that without loosing all my settings and Apps ( like you do when a Restore is done ....)?

    Or will future upgrades all be ok as the IPod is jailbroken now - so a 1.1.3 upgrade will note restore and wipe my apps?

    On a side note, if I use the application memory hack, will I need to undo that before upgrading to 1.1.3 when it is available...and if so.....how

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    ?

    Thanks in advance
    Kappa
  2. jrods

    jrods New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think u will end up losing all the apps when I upgraded to 1.1.2 I lost all my apps so I downgraded to 1.1.1 and kept it at that
  3. kappatango

    kappatango New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yeah I didn't install any apps on 1.1.1, just fresh on the broken 1.1.2

    I am wondering - there is no restore involved once the touch is jailbroken - you run the oktoprep, UPDATE via Itunes then Run the jailbroken Windows.bat for the new version - In this case, I am hoping that the APPS etc will remain....

    Anyone know for sure?
  4. THaToNeGuY

    THaToNeGuY New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    16
    i think everytime we update firmwares we lose all the 3rd party apps we have because apple doesnt like it..

    new firmwares = no more 3rd party apps (well if you upgrade to it)

    and i dont think you need to undo the memory application i didnt from 1.1.1 to 1.1.2

Share This Page