looking for explanation: wifi and wired network

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by unigee, Dec 27, 2007.

1. unigee

unigee New Member

Hi,

I am very new to WIFI, infact I have no experience with it whatsoever.

I just purchased an IPod Touch and soon after I realized I dont have a way to use its wifi capabilities. After searching for a wifi network at my house, two networks were shown but they were password protected. So I am assuming that there are two people using a wifi internet connection but they obviously locked them.

In my house, I have a few computers connected to a wired router. I don't want to go through the whole process of gettng a wireless router because it will cause problems with the other computer users.

After searching the forums here I found out you can get an wifi adapter to use on my pc.

What exactly happens with this adapter?

If I plug it into my computer, does my pc just bridge the connection from the wifi adapter to the wired router? so the itouch should recognise the wifi adapter and be able to access the internet through my pc?
    And finally, I am assuming some sort of software comes with the adapter so I can configure the security features?

Thanks
  2. edmarriner

edmarriner New Member

Yes you can buy usb adapters which turn your computer into an access point though they often don't have great range.

Yes, they will come with some sort of software which lets you change the settings.

Though if getting a wireless router is an option i would recomend it becuase it will mostl likely have a much great range.

cheers,

-ed
  3. chopshop

chopshop New Member