Location Services NOT Working

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by wammybar6, Jun 18, 2009.

  1. wammybar6

    wammybar6 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    My location can not be determined, on any of the two 2nd gens that I've had. Location Services is on, is there something I need to do.
  2. eladc

    eladc New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    It only works through the Wi-Fi and only works in some conditions that I haven't figured out yet.
    There is no built in GPS on the iPod Touch 2G.
  3. slider1960

    slider1960 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I think it uses your ip address, by a reverse lookup - so unless you have a static address registered to you, the location will probably be that of your isp....
  4. Spool

    Spool New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    In order for the iPod Touch to be able to determine your location, the wireless access point must be registered with Skyhook Wireless. You can go to their submit page and register your routers wireless MAC address and after about a week it will be in their database and start working. Here's the page to submit an access point.

    http://www.skyhookwireless.com/howitworks/submit_ap.php
  5. Jacob

    Jacob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,943
    Likes Received:
    122
    It works weird, mine says I am in Seattle, WA and I live in CA!
  6. Soutar_3DG

    Soutar_3DG Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Its probably because you ISPs main headquaters or whatever will be in seattle
  7. Jacob

    Jacob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,943
    Likes Received:
    122
    lol, Verizon.
  8. lojones5

    lojones5 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    The location is NOT determined by your ip address. It is determined by the MAC address of you router. Spool is correct, you must submit the MAC address of your router for it to work, that's what I did.
  9. eladc

    eladc New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Thanks a lot for this, I've been trying to find it for a long time!
  10. Spool

    Spool New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    No problem. It's a pretty cool feature once it is working.

Share This Page