Locate Me on Google Maps is locating me at a house I lived at 2 years ago?

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by njpman, Feb 1, 2008.

  1. njpman

    njpman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I press the locate me button on my Google Maps(jailbroken 1.1.3) it puts the center right in the middle of my pool at a house a lived at two years ago. I live in a completely different city now. Why would it do this?

    How exactly does this application find you if you only have a touch and not an iPhone?

    Thanks for any help/insight in advance
  2. simonrichards150

    simonrichards150 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,058
    Likes Received:
    94
    Device:
    iPod touch
    If you had the same router/ISP when you lived at the other house, then they proably havent updated thier database, so it shows your old house.
  3. njpman

    njpman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats the thing. I have the same router, but I have a whole new billing, new modem. That is really funny to me. I have had the router for like 5 years or so and have had it at lot of different addresses. It's just funny that's the one that stuck.

    Hmmm...thanks for the reply.
  4. Snowspot

    Snowspot New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    1
    Maybe your ipod touch ripped the fabric of space-time and you're actually locating yourself 2 years ago. Now you have to contact yourself and warn yourself that Google Maps on your ipod will be wrong in two years or the cycle will never end.
  5. domenic72

    domenic72 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    lmfao!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  6. Meoiswa

    Meoiswa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    now THATS what i call a creative comment... did you just read Arthur Clarke's COSMOS?
  7. Abcmsaj

    Abcmsaj Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,501
    Likes Received:
    122
    Device:
    iPhone 6 Plus
    ROFL
    I LOLLED in real life

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    Just got an offline Wikipedia on my Touch if anyone cares. ;P
  8. Sickly_slick

    Sickly_slick New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    10
    i do, wanna tell me how?
  9. Abcmsaj

    Abcmsaj Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,501
    Likes Received:
    122
    Device:
    iPhone 6 Plus
    sure.
    let me just find the link.
    ....
    Long wait...
    La la la...
    http://collison.ie/wikipedia-iphone/

    There.

    Instructions are simple, but the download of the dump takes ages coz of its size.
    You DON'T need to download the source, just the first two.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  10. chrism238

    chrism238 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sure, but your wireless router's MAC address has never changed (from the evidence). Depending on your router's features you may be able to change its MAC address if it matters to you (surprisingly, to a MAC address that may already be in Skyhook's database!).

Share This Page