Linksys + Belkin = Xbox 360

Discussion in 'Console & PC Gaming' started by Blake, Dec 26, 2007.

  1. Blake

    Blake Super Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,963
    Likes Received:
    63
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    I have a linksys router(Model=WRT54GS) and I have a Belkin Wireless G Gaming Adapter for my 360...
    My internet is pretty slow and to even play with out MAJOR lag I have to have everything shut off that connects to the internet....
    Are there any special settings that I can turn on/set on my router to make my xbox have the highest priority so that I get the best possible connection?

    This is probably a n00b question but since there a few gamers on here I thought I would ask.

    Thanks,
    Blake
  2. Danls92

    Danls92 Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    209
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    I'm not sure about setting priority, but there are a couple of other things you can do to minimize lag.

    For one thing, have you opened up the ports for the Xbox (when you do the internet test, does it say NAT is Open)?
  3. Juwilz

    Juwilz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    1
    OFFFTOPIC

    where did u get that sig of gamertag?
    i had one before....but i dont remember where i got it from lol


    and i c ur a mod again =D
  4. xALeXzx

    xALeXzx Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,953
    Likes Received:
    22
    Maybe your nat isn't open Blake... I don't remember the number of the port to open...
  5. Blake

    Blake Super Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,963
    Likes Received:
    63
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    /offtopic
    It came from MyGamerCard.net
    But only mods & admins can have images in there signature.
    Yes I'm a mod again.
    /ontopic
    my NAT is open
  6. xALeXzx

    xALeXzx Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,953
    Likes Received:
    22
    You have some aplications (using internet) runing in the computer or another systems using your network??
  7. Blake

    Blake Super Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,963
    Likes Received:
    63
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    No,
    I even shut off my touch.
  8. Ryuukumori

    Ryuukumori New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    2
    If you guys want a gamertag showing, just do what Blake did, but save to your comp, then make it your avatar. It's a .png, and won't work if you add via url, so you have to save it from your comp.

    @ Blake: Your NAT determined connection speed. Try opening that up with xbox live connection settings on your xbox 360, and if that fails, contact your ISP or xbox live support and ask them. It's not a n00b question, since I do not know myself or probably many here. I think everyone experiences the closed NAT (me on Halo 3 maybe 10% of the time). It might actually be your wireless connection. I'm hooked to wired ethernet for my xbox live.
  9. Danls92

    Danls92 Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    209
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    BTW, these ports should be openned for your Xbox:

    UDP 88
    UDP 3074
    TCP 3074

Share This Page