Libusb fail on vista?

Discussion in 'iPod touch 2G Jailbreak: redsn0w, 24kpwn, etc.' started by arberb, Jan 25, 2009.

  1. arberb

    arberb New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    I tried installing libusb but it f***s up all my hardware. I heard it doesn't work on vista is that true?
  2. jfb392

    jfb392 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,512
    Likes Received:
    21
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Restart in safe mode and uninstall it, then when attempting to install it again, run the installer in Windows XP compatibility mode.
  3. arberb

    arberb New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. dudeitsriley

    dudeitsriley Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,222
    Likes Received:
    1
    Vista is icky
    lol
  5. sfan786

    sfan786 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Yeah It screwed me up on vista too
  6. jfb392

    jfb392 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,512
    Likes Received:
    21
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Not really, SP1 is actually a very nice OS.

    Yeah, that's because it hasn't been updated to work with Vista, but your problems can easily be fixed by running the installer in XP compatibility mode.
    You can't expect everything to work with a new OS, especially with the major changes Vista introduced.
  7. Clusterfunk

    Clusterfunk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    I have legitimate copies of both Vista and XP (as well as ME, 98, 95 etc.). I have to say that XP is the fastest running. Vista looks nice and I used it for about a year until it just wouldn't boot all of a sudden and I just installed XP "Pirated Edition" (meaning that unnecessary features are taken out and things like Java, flash etc. are already installed).

    When it takes 45 seconds to open control panel with 4GB of ram and a 3.2 GHz dual core processor in Vista, I feel crying.
  8. mmitt

    mmitt New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    I agree. I switched to Ubuntu Linux last week and love it. You can do anything on it that Vista can do, as long as you have the IQ to use google. And Ubuntu is cooler and free.
  9. jfb392

    jfb392 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,512
    Likes Received:
    21
    Device:
    iPod touch
    If it takes 45 seconds to open the Control Panel, then it's your problem, not the OS.
    I can open the control panel in less than a second with 3GB of RAM and a dual core 2.0 Ghz processor.
    You were probably infected with some kind of malware, which is very preventable.

    I really don't understand the point of using any form of Linux as your primary operating system when there are much more capable ones, but that isn't what this thread is about, so I'll leave it there.
  10. mmitt

    mmitt New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    But you have to pay for them

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    .

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    That is you my friend.

Share This Page