Laptop as wifi problem

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by jstod66, Jul 1, 2009.

  1. jstod66

    jstod66 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Hey guys, i set up my laptop as a router for my ipod touch last night, using an ad hoc network.
    Firstly, i tried using a password protected network. When i tried to log-in with my ipod, it would say 'joining' and just stay there forever.
    Secondly, i tried an open network with no password (i know, not a good permanent option) and connecting was fine with my ipod, but then it still culdn't use the internet. I checked again, its definitely connected to the network, but no internet.
    Does anyone know how to solve either problem?
    thnx in advance

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  2. MrDodi

    MrDodi Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Did you activate "Share Internet Connection" on your PC ?
  3. jstod66

    jstod66 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Yeh, i changed that.
  4. Nburnes

    Nburnes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,022
    Likes Received:
    767
    Device:
    OnePlus One
    Allowing your iPods MAC Address?
  5. jstod66

    jstod66 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    No i didnt. How do i do that?
  6. Nburnes

    Nburnes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,022
    Likes Received:
    767
    Device:
    OnePlus One
    Honestly I don't even know if it matters or not as your just using adhoc.

    So your laptop is connected by ethernet to the internet?
  7. jstod66

    jstod66 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    No i didnt. How do i do that?

Share This Page