laptop as speakers?

Discussion in 'Console & PC Gaming' started by berky93, Nov 9, 2008.

  1. berky93

    berky93 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    4,116
    Likes Received:
    40
    is there a way to use my laptop as speakers for my xbox? my setup uses a special cable to hook my xbox up to a computer monitor i have, but the only speakers I have that have line-in functionality is my guitar amp, which buzzes like crazy. the cable I'm using turns the red and white cables from the xbox into one standard headphone jack (3.5mm)

    my laptop has a microphone port, I was wondering how I could somehow have my laptop play audio input through the speakers, without need for recording or anything. just to use for amplification.
  2. Meikura

    Meikura Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,081
    Likes Received:
    431
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Find a program called LineIn.
    Download it (it's free, I think) and then run it.
    Make sure it's set up to channel your Line In to your speakers, and go!

    That's how I do it

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  3. exit1010

    exit1010 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    4,812
    Likes Received:
    48
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    this is what i was about to say!!! beat me to it. and yeah it is free... i think...

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  4. Totally 1337

    Totally 1337 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    is LineIn available for Windows?
  5. berky93

    berky93 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    4,116
    Likes Received:
    40
    thanks! I'll try it right now!

    EDIT: oh yeah I'm on windows. is there a windows version?
  6. Meikura

    Meikura Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,081
    Likes Received:
    431
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Since it's by RogueAmoeba, I don't think so.
    I'm sure there will be equivalents though... but I don't know them.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  7. berky93

    berky93 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    4,116
    Likes Received:
    40
    I was told theres a way to do it just fromthe control panel, but I cant figure it out.

Share This Page