Just Wondering

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Dare Boy, Jan 2, 2009.

  1. Dare Boy

    Dare Boy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well i was just going through my setting and i changed my passcode and i noticed you could enable after 10 failed attempts of the passcode all your data to be deleted. And my questions is why on earth would you ever need that? and does anyone have that enabled?
  2. Axis

    Axis Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6,288
    Likes Received:
    133
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    I have it enabled. It just adds an extra layer of security. I have information on my ipod that is very important (email, facebook, etc.) I know that in the unlikely event that my iPod is stolen, the thief would only have ten chances to access my information, before it vanishes. But I still wouldn't have an iPod...

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  3. Dare Boy

    Dare Boy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    yea i never thought about it like that if it was stolen i was thinking about it more like my friends take my ipod and try to get in and they try 10 times and boom all info gone. You know?
  4. bimple

    bimple New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    I always thought that feature was kinda silly. After 10 attempts the data is lost - does that include the passcode? so basically you re just restoring the ipod back to default for the thief?
  5. yasha613

    yasha613 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Essentially a "ditto" to hellrider's response. Although I hope we'll eventually go the hardware encryption route and it will become unnecessary. I set mine up with it initially because I was going to put not only my personal mail accounts, songs and photos on it, but my work's exchange server. Using it much like you'd use your work's blackberry.

    It's a nice feature to have if your worried about information getting into another user's hands from losing it, or having it stolen. Although I'd hardly consider it high level privacy, as it's probably doing essentially what is done when you delete or format currently and would be easily recoverable from someone with a sufficient level of knowledge and tools.
  6. bimple

    bimple New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    I wish someone would come up with an addon that would allow you to use an upper and lowercase alpha-numeric passcode - that would strengthen the security instead of giving them 9999 chances to get it right if the passcode isnt enabled
  7. Axis

    Axis Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6,288
    Likes Received:
    133
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    First and foremost, we are dealing with an iPod. In some cases, higher security would be helpful, but even a passcode can be a hindrance when all you want to do is change the song.
  8. Der-Kleine

    Der-Kleine Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    24
    Device:
    Samsung Galaxy S2
    I think it wuld be better if after 10 times all your stuff vanishes from the homescreen so that you homescreen is TOTALLY empty and you must plug your iPod to iTunes to get it back (ad then you must get the right code in iTunes (passcode))
  9. yasha613

    yasha613 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, not getting that one, they could have easily added in a caps/alpha button on the main screen to switch. But I suppose the main idea isn't for this to be a blackberry/handheld-entertainment-center replacement.

    Still, it would be nice to have a true all-in-one device like that. Perhaps someday.

    I was actually in shock that the itouch's didn't have bluetooth built-in to be honest when I read the specs a while back. *shrug*

Share This Page