JUST GOT MY TOUCH... but I have a problem.

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by redban, Oct 2, 2010.

  1. redban

    redban New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    I keep trying to facetime my girlfriend but it keeps saying shes not available.
    She tried facetiming me but the same thing happened to her. We both have ipod touch 4th gens and we both set up facetime and have emails connected to it. What can I do to fix it

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  2. tinyman392

    tinyman392 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    16,012
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Device:
    iPhone 6
    I'd go to Apple Support about this (try online with an online genius). But I really can't help you, maybe someone else has this problem. It might be that the facetime servers are clogged up because of the new devices and hasn't caught up yet. You have to remember, there are a lot of Facetime users out there... If you both set it up today, I'd wait a little while (couple hours?) before trying it so it's all set and ready to do with the servers. But do contact Apple if it doesn't work by tomorrow.

    Sorry I really can't help you hear, if you set it up correctly, it should work correctly.

    I wish you luck fixing this problem.
  3. cubsfan2154

    cubsfan2154 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Tell her to update to 4.1
  4. redban

    redban New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    She is on 4.1 also.
  5. tinyman392

    tinyman392 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    16,012
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Device:
    iPhone 6
    It's impossible for her not to be on 4.1.

    Are you both connected to the internet (meaning able to open a web page)? Sometimes (with 2Wire routers for example) it'll say your connected even if you put in the wrong WEP key. But if there are any network issues at all, then the calls can't be placed. Mac filters can also cause this.
  6. redban

    redban New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Yeah were both on wifi.
    Shoul I try connecting to different wifi?
  7. micro_hard

    micro_hard Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPad mini
    Same thing happens to me when I try to connect my 4G to my Dad's iPhone 4. When I ring him, it says that. But when his iPhone 4 rings my 4G it's OK. However when I ring my bro's 4G it's OK, vice versa
  8. APV

    APV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    3,036
    Likes Received:
    69
    Device:
    5G iPod touch
    Possibly your internet or her internet may not be fast enough...

    There are many times when my high speed network dips below dial-up speeds. It's because Time Warner sucks.

    I'd imagine at some point a video chat would be impossible.
  9. tinyman392

    tinyman392 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    16,012
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Device:
    iPhone 6
    You don't need to be connected to different wifi. I'm assuming it's just a glitch with Facetime right now.

Share This Page