Just got my new iPhone jailbroken, have some issues

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by billydudeiskewl, Oct 13, 2009.

  1. billydudeiskewl

    billydudeiskewl New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    First off, the wifi doesn't work. I'm using the very same network I am trying to connect to as we speak, but even when I type in the information manually, it never connects. I've entered the Wifi address into my router and everything, so it can't be that. And second off, every time I click on cydia, it loads for like 2 seconds then goes right back to the homescreen. I cannot find fuzzyband to see if I can still unlock it unless cydia and wifi are both working
  2. shortperson1026

    shortperson1026 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,455
    Likes Received:
    21
    If your on 3.1 there's only a 5% chance you can downgrade the baseband.
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    I'd use iREB to restore to a fresh 3.0 firmware, then jailbreak using pwnagetool on a mac, or redsn0w on windows. Then your problems should be fixed.
  3. billydudeiskewl

    billydudeiskewl New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
  4. shortperson1026

    shortperson1026 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,455
    Likes Received:
    21
    Great! I'd be happy to further help you either on AIM or Skype.

    aim- shortperson1026

    skype- mitchell.cairns

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  5. billydudeiskewl

    billydudeiskewl New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    It came with 3.1, but I need wifi and cydia so I can use fuzzyband to see if I can still unlock it, and if not I need to return it to the seller

    I rejailbroke, cydia is working but no wifi still

    edit: got it working. Just had to give it some time I guess
  6. shortperson1026

    shortperson1026 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,455
    Likes Received:
    21
    Most likely, you won't be able to downgrade the baseband.

    I'd return it to the seller, and find an iPhone 3g with 3.0 software so the baseband is still preserved.

    Good luck!
  7. billydudeiskewl

    billydudeiskewl New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Hehe with my wifi and cydia working, I am able to deduct that it does indeed work, and it has baseband 5.08! This is amazing. I'm hoping it will end up working!
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    OK So I have used fuzzyband and it was successful and now I am on 4.26.08 and I ran ultrasn0w but now all I have is the blank bars and no operator name. I have redone ultrasn0w twice and nothing has changed
  8. DrewGzy

    DrewGzy Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,205
    Likes Received:
    10
    Good to hear; you got pretty lucky on this one!!


    It is a bug with the jailbreak; the carrier name does not show up. The easiest "solution" is to use MakeItMine from Cydia.
  9. andybno2

    andybno2 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    this is a bug because by the sounds of it your running 3.1? and have an earlier baseband so the two are conflicting, I am running an unlocked 3G but because of that carrier bug I decided to stay with 3.0.1.

Share This Page