Just got 3gs today tried to update out the box error 1604 help!!!

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by therealriley, Aug 13, 2009.

  1. therealriley

    therealriley New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I've just taken it out the box plugged it in pressed update and it failed with error 1604. Now I can't get it to go into dfu mode or go back to normal. I've just downloaded the 3gs original firmware and am about to shift restore that file but it was trying to upgrade to 3.01 when the error came up. Help please my new toy is broken I've not even played with it yet!
    I have updated iTunes first, restarted the xp pc and changed USB socket? What now?


    The shop is closed now too!!
  2. lakers123

    lakers123 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    do you have another computer to try on?
  3. therealriley

    therealriley New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    well my shift restore has just worked. It's back on now. I was worried it wouldn't work. I'm gonna try the update with shift restore see if that gets it updated again. Thanks anymore help welcome I will in this too am I best to keep this firmware or update then jb?
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    I mean jb (jailbreak) not in!!! Auto correction!!
  4. lakers123

    lakers123 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    restore to 3.0.1 and use redsn0w to jailbreak it. if your on 3.0 then upgrade to 3.0.1 first
  5. therealriley

    therealriley New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Ok it's back on now but as it was going through the process of restoring and then it came up with error 1604 again??????
    But I unplugged it and it's working??? Is this a pc issue then I don't wanna mess about when jb?
  6. lakers123

    lakers123 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    yes i would try another computer. or try unistalling itunes completely, then reboot your computer, then reinstall itunes, then take the sim card out of your iphone and restore, then put the sim card back in and activate in itunes. if that doesnt work then take it to an apple store and they will definetly replace it because it is very new
  7. therealriley

    therealriley New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Also should I use the upgrade button in itunes again where the fault originated or can I download the firmware elsewhere and use shift restore to update it?
  8. JayTraceur

    JayTraceur New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    AHH! Wrong Section!
  9. lakers123

    lakers123 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    no click restore not shift restore and itll download the latest firmware from itunes
  10. therealriley

    therealriley New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Nice one pal cheers for your help. Il try it all and update you later. This is exactly why I prefer my touch coz I've done all this once already LOL. Still there's a few nice touches on the new one.

Share This Page