Jailbreaking my new 2G Touch

Discussion in 'iPod touch 2G Jailbreak: redsn0w, 24kpwn, etc.' started by artmanc, Feb 10, 2009.

1. artmanc

artmanc New Member

Hi,

I've just got a new iPod Touch as a birthday present and am thinking about jailbreaking it. I'm pretty new to this stuff so have been reading and think I have a basic grasp of what needs to be done. But really can't afford to screw it up so would appreciate all the help and advice you can give me.

So far I understand I need to use redsnow. Is that the only option? Seems a little complicated, but hope its easier when your actually doing it.
    Any good idiots guides that you guys used?
    Youtube video maybe?
    Has anyone managed to break their touch doing this?
    Will this invalidate my warranty?

Thanks for the help, a little scared I'm gonna screw my new present up

Please Register or Log in to view images

2. manutdman5

manutdman5 New Member

resn0w is the only way of jailbreaking, when you jb though it is 'tethered' meaning that when you turn off or restart your iPod, you have to connect it to a computer to boot it, otherwise you will just be left with a black screen. JB is reversable though, if you dont like it then yo can restore the iPod to an original firmware. If you send your iPod back to apple and its JB then it will invalidate your warranty, like i said though the JB is reversable. It is easier when you actually doing it.

I JB my iPod using a guid from pheonix, just search the forums and you will find it, IMO its the easiest simplest guide, whatever you do though FOLLOW THE INSTUCTIONS! And dont think your iPod is bricked, its not.
  3. StaticFX

StaticFX New Member

Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    Go for it.. you CANNOT brick it (ruin it)

I used Cyw00ds GUI.. worked perfect. Done it a few times now. if you get stuck... DONT PANIC... SEARCH the forum. the answers are there.
  4. TomboFry

TomboFry Member