Jailbreaking Fail.

Discussion in 'iPod touch 2G Jailbreak: redsn0w, 24kpwn, etc.' started by ALBIM, Feb 5, 2009.

1. ALBIM

ALBIM New Member

Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I'm a noob at any jailbreaking, and new to the scene of it, but I can't get my damn iPod to jailbreak for the life of me. I'm getting frustrated. I realize that many people here don't want n00bs such as myself asking for help, but any and all help is greatly appreciated.

I got very excited when the tethered 2G JB was released, and went immediately to veryniceipod's tutorial for the mac jailbreak (http://www.ifans.com/forums/showthread.php?t=137683).

If it matters, I'm running 10.4.11 on an iBook G4. So basically, a somewhat old laptop.

Here's the steps I take (for the tl;dr people, I basically follow the steps, but maybe I'm doing something wrong. I suspect it's something to do with my downloading of the libusb pkg):

download rslite, pwnage tool, the firmwares (felixbruns.de), and the attachments, as well as the libusb. I put all of this into the rslite folder (the pwnage tool is mounted first and the .app is dragged, not the .dmg file), and then I install the libusb file inside the folder. I also rename the firmware files to 211.ipsw and 221.ipsw.

I then do the terminal commands.

Then I go to the pwnage tool and follow the instructions. The build is successful and I remembered to uncheck the custom logos. I fill out my admin pass. and then when it finishes I click yes and go on my merry way.

Then I do the terminal cmnds. Wait for it to be done.

I then plug the iPod into the computer. Since the first time I tried the jailbreak, the ipod has not been recognized except one chance moment. I put said ipod into DFU (hold sleep and home for 10s, then release sleep and hold home for 7s.)