iOS 3.1 Jailbreaking a New 3G iPod Touch

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by Goldcoin, Mar 13, 2010.

  1. Goldcoin

    Goldcoin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    When I bought it, it already had 3.1.2 firmware with it, so I went ahead and I was able to use blackra1n. Should this be OK even though I'm using a 3G iPod Touch?

    EDIT:
    In 'About', I look at the version and it says 3.1.2 (7D11). Isn't this the firmware for 2G iPod Touches? I thought 3G models had their own version of 3.1.2 firmware.

    The model # begins with MC0...the iPod should be 3G then, right?
  2. J-Phone

    J-Phone Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4,868
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    its ok aslong as u dont upgrade to 3.1.3. also since its a 3g its tethered so you need to run blackra1n again whenever u turn off
  3. Bubalooshi

    Bubalooshi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Yes. You will have a tethered jailbreak, though.

    Tethered means (if you don't know) that you cannot turn the device on without connecting it to a computer and running BlackRa1n. You shouldn't even need to turn it off, because you can clear your RAM with SBSettings.
  4. Nobber

    Nobber New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    It'll be fine. In the worse case, do a hard reset if anything goes wrong (power and home button pressed together for a while). Do avoid it, though.
  5. SoBe

    SoBe Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,788
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    3.1.2 is the firmware for all iDevices. And yes it's a 3rd Gen that's why you have a tethered jailbreak.
  6. Goldcoin

    Goldcoin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Thanks! Problem solved!

Share This Page