Jailbreak without Home Button

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by topsecret, Oct 19, 2009.

  1. topsecret

    topsecret New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Hi everybody!
    I'm totally new here but I have a big problem. So I try it here to find a solution for my problem.
    I have an iPod Touch 1G Firmware 2.2.1
    I have an iMac with Mac OS X Version 10.5.8
    My iPod has been jailbroken once but I don't think I does matter anymore.

    My problem is that my Home-Button is not working anymore for now almost a month and I am searching everywhere to find a solution or how I could repare it. My guarantee run off a few month ago and reparing costs about 150€!!!
    Now I have seen that there is a 3rd party app from iSpazio called 'iHome' which should replace the HomeButton by "controling it thru" the touchscreen.
    So i started trying to jailbreak my iPod Touch but of course with most of jailbreaking programs it doesn't make sense because you have to push the HomeButton while jailbreaking.
    I have heard in some threads that a similar problem occured but there was never a definite solution.
    I'm asking you for help and try to find a definite solution to clear up this whole mess of different opinions and views. Further I think that the problem of a broken HomeButton will occur with increasing regularity, espacially with the older generations of iPod touch and iPhone!

    I'm asking myself why there is no app at the appstore which is replacing the HomeButton but probably Apple earns a lot of money with reparing such stuff...
  2. deadlyvirus

    deadlyvirus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    There is a toggle for SBSettings that can act as a home button. You would just need to be able to get to Cydia.
  3. topsecret

    topsecret New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    But how do I get to Cydia? Isnt it just working with a jailbreak?
  4. deadlyvirus

    deadlyvirus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Use blackra1n to jailbreak. No home button needed.
  5. topsecret

    topsecret New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    I tried and it said it is now jailbroken but there is no sign of blackra1n at the screen!?!? : (
  6. deadlyvirus

    deadlyvirus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    What firmware are you using?
  7. topsecret

    topsecret New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    2.2.1 as I said. iTunes is on 9.0
    maybe I didn't get it right how to use blackra1n.
  8. deadlyvirus

    deadlyvirus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Sorry, kind of skimmed your post. blackra1n is for 3.1.x, which you should upgrade to. blackra1n is the only DFU-less jailbreak I am aware of.
  9. topsecret

    topsecret New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    hm ok... semms to that it is the best solution even if it costs me 4€. But better than reparing it for 150€!!!!!!! ; )
  10. deadlyvirus

    deadlyvirus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Yep yep. Just look for Close button for SBSettings and your iPod will be good as new.

Share This Page