Jailbreak iPhone Simulator :)

Discussion in 'iOS Development' started by gdscei, Feb 14, 2010.

  1. gdscei

    gdscei New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I am busy with this, and i'll be posting more info soon

    Please Register or Log in to view images


    What i'm doing right now is transferring >4GB over SSH to my mac (which are all files of my ipod touch

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    ) and transfer them to the iPhone Simulator... let's see how it does

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    (Queued files: around 10000-20000)
  2. lauNchD

    lauNchD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,844
    Likes Received:
    261
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Nope.

    The Simulator is actually NOT an emulator, it runs natively on the same architecture as your computer (that's why some operations are 10x faster on the Simulator than on the actual device). All supported iPhone-specific frameworks (UIKit, etc.) are recompiled for Intel macs and their respective Darwin kernel. All "virtual" processes are actually processes on the host, and many iPhone system daemons aren't run since their Mac counterparts are already open. Ever wonder why you can run as much unsigned code as you want on there?

    => What you're doing will most probably fail. You can't copy any apps, since they are compiled for ARM/iPhone OS. The only thing that might work are preference files (for apps that are already installed on the Simulator) and Camera Roll photos, as long as you know where to put them.
  3. Shawa

    Shawa Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,188
    Likes Received:
    22
    Device:
    Nexus 4
    This is jst too funny.
  4. lauNchD

    lauNchD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,844
    Likes Received:
    261
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    WTF? What's so funny?

    Edit: If you mean the attempt to copy >4GB of files over SSH and fail, …well, yeah.
  5. tanktan38

    tanktan38 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,085
    Likes Received:
    15
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Agreed.

    Dude, don't waste your time if you really don't know what you're doing. And you know, you should have done it atleast over a USB SSH client instead of over wifi ( which is what I assume you're doing)
  6. SkylarEC

    SkylarEC Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,642
    Likes Received:
    129
    The Simulator by default is jailbroken. I you want a jailbroken app on there, compile it for x86 and put it on there. If you want MobileSubstrate in the Simulator, simply compile it and add it in.
  7. hihid27

    hihid27 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Brand new to most of this;
    How do you change/compile an app to x86?
    Like is there an application to do it or something?
    Thanks
  8. lauNchD

    lauNchD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,844
    Likes Received:
    261
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    In the iPhone SDK, just build your app for the Simulator. However, it will only run on the Simulator, since many Mac/iPhone frameworks are required.

Share This Page