Jaadu VNC or RDP?

Discussion in 'iTunes App Store Games & Apps' started by Psmth, Jun 17, 2009.

  1. Psmth

    Psmth New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Right Now I want to get a VNC/RDP app for my ipod but not sure whether to go with Jaadu VNC or Jaadu RDP (Remote Desktop).

    I use Windows Vista Ult.

    Thanks

    edit - how safe are these apps ? Is it safe leaving a port opened for these apps ?
  2. whcodered

    whcodered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    It depends on what you want to use. I leave a VNC server running on my computer and use Jaadu VNC. I haven't used RDP but I suspect it is similar and I can't compare the two.

    These are safe to use- you need a password in order to login to your computer.
  3. Bubalooshi

    Bubalooshi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Jaadu VNC is awesome. I'd go with that.
  4. mohaas05

    mohaas05 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    RDP is primarily a Windows standard. It exists on other platforms but it is less prevalent.

    VNC is universal and is generally more versatile and secure (especially when tunneled via SSH, but you probably won't need that). I would recommend that you use VNC.

    As far as ports go, VNC by default, listens on ports 5900-5903 (you can edit this in your VNC server application). On Linux systems, there may be more, as seperate ports are used for seperate X screens, but the default should be fine for Windows systems.
  5. Psmth

    Psmth New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Ok thanks alot, I've gone with the VNC one. but wow portforwarding is a pain in the a**. It's taking forever to set it up.
  6. mohaas05

    mohaas05 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Where are you doing it? It should be through your computer firewall mainly, but you may need to edit your router firewall if you want to use VNC over the internet.
  7. KhmerB10

    KhmerB10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Jaadu VNC
    Its really good
  8. Mgssidley

    Mgssidley Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    1
    PortForwarding shouldnt be that hard o.o Sure your doing it right?
  9. mohaas05

    mohaas05 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Unless you do it through iptables of course.
  10. CHC

    CHC New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    it depends on which protocol you are using, are you using RDP, or VNC protocol? let that guide your answer...

Share This Page