ive serched and im still all mixed up

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by mpappa31, Jan 16, 2010.

  1. mpappa31

    mpappa31 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    hey im just freakin all mixed up on this subject
    im trying to jailbreak my ipod (its a 3gen 8gb)
    i have blackra1n
    ive searched and i cant find the answer i really need help
    im returning to the jailbreak scene
    i was busy and my last 8gb was stolen
    i have been lost trying to do this...sorry but its been about a yr and a half...yea back when the firmware 2.0 was barely coming out..haha funny huh
    can someone please help me maybe pm me or something...if ur gonna say"search or something dumb like that..." i have...i have even googled it...
    and i just need to clarify the issues im having so plz can someone help bring me back into the loop..
    thanks in advance!!!
  2. Chamilism

    Chamilism New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (White)
    Blackra1n.

    You have a 3rd Generation iPod touch. therefore, your jailbreak will be tethered, which means when you restart your iPod you get the connect to iTunes symbol, where then you will have to run blackra1n to boot your iPod up.

    to jailbreak your iPod, plug your iPod in and exit itunes and click make it ra1n (on blackra1n). once there wait until you see geohot's face and your iPod shall restart, once there re-run blackra1n again.

    There will be a blackra1n icon where you can download Cydia and Rock.
  3. mpappa31

    mpappa31 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch


    ok see this where im lost...i plug into my ipod ...now do i have to exit itunes....that may be the problem bc i didnt get "geohot's face" is this bc i didnt close itunes? and my ipod never restarts....
  4. monkey1883

    monkey1883 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    with your ipod plugged in, u hav to run blackra1n again. then wait for it to boot
  5. Tkf1

    Tkf1 Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    17,397
    Likes Received:
    2,488
    Device:
    iPad mini
    Do you just get a blackscreen? Try turnig off anti virus
    programs. Does your iPod have a passcode?

    What OS are you running win7? xp?
  6. mpappa31

    mpappa31 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    ok so i ran it i still have the black screen....umm im running vista home prem.
  7. Airion

    Airion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,472
    Likes Received:
    69
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    yes, turn off itunes. Make sure you are running as administrator.
  8. mpappa31

    mpappa31 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    ok so now i ended running the jailbreaker about times back to back...ended up finally getting the geohot face(PROGRESS!!), but now its just at that screen with the spinning circle and its been at this screen for about 3-5mins..so what now? any advice
  9. Okay, make sure you kill all iTunes related processes/services (including iTunes!):
    -iTunesHelper
    -AppleMobileDevice
    -iPod Service

    Then try to run blackra1n.exe again. Also, can you at least boot up your iPod normally, where you see the Apple Logo, then the lockscreen and then springboard; or is it in recovery mode? If its in DFU mode or just plain won't work, try restoring through iTunes.
  10. Enkeixpress

    Enkeixpress Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    • Irrelevant/off-topic posts
    wtf.. I just got my new iPod Touch 3G 32GB jailbreaked last week & I already consider myself a pro! Got it customized & everything with all the best apps & mods around.. like Multiflow (latest version), SBsettings, & alot of stuff I'm not going to mention here.

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Let's just say I've been really busy with it this past week .. eh?

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    You must be reeeeally.. slow or something.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

Share This Page