iTunes won't let find the iPoT in it's window, even though the diagnostics finds it

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by tablecloth, Jan 17, 2008.

  1. tablecloth

    tablecloth New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    diagnostics says it's there, but it won't find it so I can't sync. I reinstalled twice today, no luck. I tried different ports, no luck. iTunes is 7.6 and iPoT is 1.1.3(no purchase upgrade)
  2. 1god1king

    1god1king New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    try restart computer
    if that doesn't work uninstall and reinstall iTunes
  3. tablecloth

    tablecloth New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've tried reinstalling three or four times, didn't do anything. I've also tried restarting.
  4. tablecloth

    tablecloth New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    The f***ing Diagnostics can find the f***ing iPod but it won't show up in the f***ing window.
  5. tablecloth

    tablecloth New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    As you can see I'm pissed. I restored it and now it won't sync AND there is no music on it!
  6. tablecloth

    tablecloth New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had it working for a few days but now it isn't.

    Microsoft Windows Vista Professional (Build 6000)
    Dell Inc. Dell DXP061
    iTunes 7.6.0.29
    QuickTime 7.4
    CD Driver 2.0.6.1
    CD Driver DLL 2.0.6.2
    Apple Mobile Device 1.1.3.26
    Bonjour 1.0.4.12 (118.4)

    iTunes Serial Number A900621F411E7DBB

    Current user is an administrator.
    The current local date and time is 2008-01-21 17:38:57.
    iTunes is not running in safe mode.

    Video Display Information

    NVIDIA, NVIDIA GeForce 7900 GS
    NVIDIA, NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT


    **** External Plug-ins Information ****

    No external plug-ins installed.

    **** iPod/iPhone Connectivity Tests ****

    iPodService 7.6.0.29 is currently running.
    iTunesHelper 7.6.0.29 is currently running.
    Apple Mobile Device service 1.14.0.0 is currently running.

    Universal Serial Bus Controllers:

    Standard Universal PCI to USB Host Controller. Device is working properly.
    Standard Universal PCI to USB Host Controller. Device is working properly.
    Standard Universal PCI to USB Host Controller. Device is working properly.
    Standard Universal PCI to USB Host Controller. Device is working properly.
    Standard Universal PCI to USB Host Controller. Device is working properly.
    Standard Enhanced PCI to USB Host Controller. Device is working properly.
    Standard Enhanced PCI to USB Host Controller. Device is working properly.

    FireWire (IEEE 1394) Host Controllers:

    AGERE OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Controller. Device is working properly.

    Connected Device Information:
    (my name)’s iPod, iPod touch running firmware version 1.1.3
    Serial Number: 1A740FDRW4N


    is what diagnostics says. Diag finds it but it still doesn't appear.
  7. p4intb4ll005

    p4intb4ll005 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey try uninstalling itunes, ipod mobile finder and quicktime and reinstalling them. i had a similar problem and when i did that it worked fine. if all else fails have you put ur ipod in recovery mode yet and reconnecting it to your computer?
  8. tablecloth

    tablecloth New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've did that and it found it, but then it asked for a restore. Restoring is just annoying. If I put it in restore mode and then took it out, would it recongize?
  9. shrew

    shrew New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having a similar problem, my first IpoT was sent back due to the touch screen failing they sent me a replacement, this is not recognised by my PC , yet works on three other PC's , my PC believes it to be an IPHONE, I have uninstalled four times all parts of the APPLE suite but still the same nothing. It must be something about my PC but the previous touch worked fine, anyone any ideas APPLE support didnt have a clue.

    error I get

    iTunes could not connect to the iPhone "" because an invalid response was received from the device.
  10. dabreutx

    dabreutx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Invalid Response, corrupt itunes database

    I just "lost" my entire itunes database, playlists, everything. However I had a backup and realized this was my problem.

    If you're using iTunes on a work laptop, then this could be your problem too:

    If the laptop is on a domain, then iTunes will probably put your iTunes library in the <user> folder on the domain server. Windows will then want to "synchronize" your itunes library every time you pull the laptop off the server. The result is that at some point the itunes database will get corrupt. Here's how you fix it. Move your iTunes database to be "local" or at least to some drive that's not controlled by your domain. You could even store the iTunes library on a local NAS drive at home.

    When you start up iTunes, hold down the shift key. This will pull up a prompt to ask you to select the iTunes database you want to use. You then select your backup that you have manually put on a local drive (i.e. not the default location on the domain server). Then everything works like a charm.

Share This Page