iOS 4.1 iTunes Update Server Currently Unavailable

Discussion in 'iOS Jailbreak & Cydia' started by qwasedral, Oct 11, 2010.

  1. qwasedral

    qwasedral Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    4,433
    Likes Received:
    219
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    I'm trying to update my friends ipod touch 3g, but when i try to update an error comes up saying "The iPod updater server could not be contacted or is currently unavailable."
  2. Tkf1

    Tkf1 Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    17,397
    Likes Received:
    2,488
    Device:
    iPad mini
    Severs go down all the time.
  3. XxRedRumxX

    XxRedRumxX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,666
    Likes Received:
    1,079
    Device:
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    Did you edit the hosts file? Some times that causes that problem
  4. qwasedral

    qwasedral Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    4,433
    Likes Received:
    219
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Yeah i edited the hosts file so i could downgrade my 2g from 4.1 to 4.1, i figured that was the problem, got any suggestions on what to do?
  5. XxRedRumxX

    XxRedRumxX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,666
    Likes Received:
    1,079
    Device:
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    Use the TSS Server in TinyUmbrella. It just takes out the hassle of editing the host file. Just make sure to get the shsh blobs on your computer first. Just use tinyumbrella for that
  6. ishey94

    ishey94 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Remove the entry? but I don't think you needed to edit it to downgrade to 4.1

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  7. qwasedral

    qwasedral Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    4,433
    Likes Received:
    219
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    So i click "run TSS Server"?
  8. Tkf1

    Tkf1 Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    17,397
    Likes Received:
    2,488
    Device:
    iPad mini
    Yes. But remove Saurik host file.
  9. XxRedRumxX

    XxRedRumxX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,666
    Likes Received:
    1,079
    Device:
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    Yes and your good to go and what Tkf1 said

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  10. metroplex

    metroplex New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone
    just restart your computer, had the same problem last night.. tried editing my hosts file nothing worked but a complete reboot for my comp.. now it upgraded like a champ.

Share This Page