iTunes thinks I have 3.0!

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 3.0' started by mogey16816, Mar 22, 2009.

  1. mogey16816

    mogey16816 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    I was using firmware changer that I downloaded from cydia and set it to 3.0 with some random build, and now it thinks I have 3.0! Is there a way for it to know that I don't have 3.0 and instead only 2.2? I have changed it back to 2.2 with firmware changer but it doesn't do anything. please help.
  2. zerodash

    zerodash New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hah no.. its gonna do that... change it to 4 and see whats up
  3. mogey16816

    mogey16816 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    It just stays at 3.0. I think that since you can get 3.0 and i set it as 3.0 it thinks I actually have it. I'll try other computers in the morning to see if the same thing comes up.
  4. liammk

    liammk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    thats strange
  5. vilim12

    vilim12 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Probably wont go back, because when you get 3.0 you cant downgrade very easily at all
    So iTunes might not see it possible to downgrade lol
  6. iCrap

    iCrap Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,639
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Might let you get 3 for free!
  7. ipodtouchesrule

    ipodtouchesrule Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,009
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    The only thing I can think of is just putting it into recovery mode. Seeing if then it will recognize it as 2.2.
  8. berky93

    berky93 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    4,116
    Likes Received:
    40
    it changes based on what it says in your ipod - the reason it does change backwards is that itunes has the capability to UPDATE an ipod without restoring it, but not downgrade. so it thinks you upgraded to 3.0, but it doesn't believe that you could have downgraded to 2.2 without restoring (Itunes knows you didnt restore also)
  9. pieceofsummer

    pieceofsummer Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    What if you change firmware version in iPodDevices.xml file? (or maybe completely delete this file)
  10. mogey16816

    mogey16816 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    I tried this method. It didn't work, but it's ok. I can probably get 3.0 for free when it comes out since all of the beta testers will get it. We'll just wait and see.

Share This Page