Itunes eats 4GB or RAM!?

Discussion in 'iTunes' started by jimbeam, Jun 23, 2009.

  1. jimbeam

    jimbeam Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,694
    Likes Received:
    12
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Just restored, upgraded and jailbroke 3.0. Now I'm syncing about 15GB of music and apps back and I noticed iTunes is using all but 8MB of my 4GB of memory! All I have open is itunes and safari.

    Is this normal? Seems a bit much.
  2. Duykur

    Duykur Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,674
    Likes Received:
    0
    Might be bc it needs to take the songs into RAM first, then transfer it to your ipod, I've never seen this before though.
  3. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Screenshot of activity monitor? My iTunes is doing just fine.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  4. Duykur

    Duykur Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,674
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you transferring 15gb or apps and music?
  5. Axis

    Axis Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6,288
    Likes Received:
    133
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    Psh, iTunes Helper.


    --
    I've never noticed memory usage to THAT degree when running the visualizer or transferring multiple GBs. And I keep an eye on my system stats.
  6. jimbeam

    jimbeam Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,694
    Likes Received:
    12
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Actually I'm not sure if it is iTunes now. 3GB are inactive? So 1GB is being split up for all the running process. Going to try a restart after its done syncing.
  7. Teslanaut

    Teslanaut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    177
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
  8. jimbeam

    jimbeam Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,694
    Likes Received:
    12
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Cool? Anyway a restart freed it up. That was 3GB of REAL memory sitting inactive for some reason, but what ever happened it seems fixed now.
  9. Axis

    Axis Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    6,288
    Likes Received:
    133
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    Inactive memory isn't "bad". It's information no longer being used and has been cached to disk, but it will remain in RAM until another application needs the space.

    Free memory has not yet been utilized.
  10. jimbeam

    jimbeam Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,694
    Likes Received:
    12
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    oooohhh.

Share This Page