iTunes 7.6 - To download, or not to download?

Discussion in 'iTunes' started by Conya, Jan 16, 2008.

  1. Conya

    Conya Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    I have a 1.1.1 jailbroken iPod Touch, and I am being asked to get the new iPod Software (1.1.3) which I'm not doing until they jailbreak it, but should I download iTunes 7.6?

    Please reply asap.
  2. RedrumsSam

    RedrumsSam Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    I can't find a validated claim that itunes 7.6 won't let you downgrade your ipod firmware. That's what I'm worried about. So, I downloaded the old version's installer so that if 7.6 screws jailbreaking up I can just install 7.5 again.

    I found it here http://www.filehippo.com/download_itunes/
  3. Conya

    Conya Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Thanks for info + link.
  4. USAngel

    USAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have 7.6 and I restored my iPod 2 or 3 times today. Every time I chose the Firmware by myself (1.1.1 and 1.1.2).
    Haven't installed (but already downloaded) 1.1.3 yet.
  5. cameron

    cameron New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dont know if this helps but i have 7.6 Itunes like USAngel and i can press SHIFT restore on my jbroken 1.1.2 ipot it brings up the window that allows you to pic the file. Does this help? Does this mean that i will be able to downgrade the i pod if i need to?

    Please say it does then i can breath again knowing i have not messed up my ipot
  6. USAngel

    USAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    yea.. though it is more difficult (additional steps) with 1.1.3

    I just read about that here in the Forum.. didnt do it myself yet, and i wont either

    PS: @the guy who sent me the PM: I just Shift clicked on Restore

Share This Page