iTouch V2 Software 8 Gb's - Un(Jail)breakable?

Discussion in 'iPod touch 1.1.4 Jailbreak' started by nashville, Mar 8, 2008.

  1. nashville

    nashville New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys,

    I have an 8 gig touch. It came with the software upgrade. And it doesn't jailbreak. Also gets stuck at BSD Root.

    I also tried the latest button mashing solutions that 16 gigers are working towards. And it actually got past BSD root, and restored... No install App icon (that was a tease).

    And so thats it. No solution in sight.

    Is anyone with the V2 standard upgrade not able to JB?
  2. jpga13

    jpga13 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,591
    Likes Received:
    435
    Device:
    iPad 3
    I was able to get one V2 to do a true 1.1.4 jailbreak and all others I have gone to 1.1.1-1.1.2 and then the Dev Tem Official 1.1.3 Upgrade with no issues.
  3. KittyBee

    KittyBee New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    This is the exact same problem I encountered.

    I've been trying to jailbreak my 8gb touch the whole morning. I bought it in mid-February and it came with 1.1.3 with the software upgrade. Unfortunately I upgraded to 1.1.4 before I was told about jailbreaking it. I was using ziphone 2.5c and I was getting the repeated BSD root message for every jailbreak attempt.

    Any help is appreciated!
  4. micaheljcaboose

    micaheljcaboose Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,855
    Likes Received:
    82
    Try downloading ziphone 1.0 from my sig and use that. Make sure you choose jailbreak and verbose boot(debug)
  5. nashville

    nashville New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    ya, jpga13 thanks for the heads up. i'm gonna try the power off method, otherwise downgrade. i'm assuming that downgrade can be reversed with a legit restore right? also I was looking for where to get the earlier firmwares last night, but its quite muddled up on google. could you provide some links?

    thanks for the input.
  6. nashville

    nashville New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    does the ziphone 1.0 work with 1.1.4?

    EDIT

    I tried with 1.0, and no go. Same problem.
  7. jpga13

    jpga13 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    11,591
    Likes Received:
    435
    Device:
    iPad 3
  8. micaheljcaboose

    micaheljcaboose Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,855
    Likes Received:
    82
    that's weird. Try downloading my ZiPhone Auto-Downloader in my sig, and download version 2.0
  9. KittyBee

    KittyBee New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Just curious, nashville did you get yours to work yet?
  10. nashville

    nashville New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey micahel, neither version works unfortunately, i'm pretty sure this will be the case with most V2 8gb touches. thanks for the suggestions. doesn't look like much optimism is left.

Share This Page