Is this possible?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Joe Rossignol, Jun 25, 2009.

  1. Joe Rossignol

    Joe Rossignol Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,500
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    I upgraded to 3.0 beta 1 way back... got real busy and never got to use my iPod until now. It's showing the connect to iTunes screen. It's on 3.0 b1 right now and i'm wondering if I can just SHIFT+Restore to 2.x.
  2. David.

    David. Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,565
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Yea I am pretty sure you can. Doesn't seem there wouldn't be anything from stopping you.

    EDIT: I would do DFU and shift-clicking to be safe though
  3. iPod Touch™

    iPod Touch™ Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    986
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Yes you could do shift+Restore and restore to 2.2.1 then re jailbreak.
  4. Just_For_Now

    Just_For_Now Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Yeah i had the 3.0 beta 2 and i just restored back to 2.2.1, No problem at all.
  5. Joe Rossignol

    Joe Rossignol Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,500
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    alright, i'm just a bit confused on why I keep getting errors then... it's really bugging me.
  6. Joe Rossignol

    Joe Rossignol Community Manager Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,500
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    it just stalls at "preparing iPod for restore" then gives me an error.
  7. David.

    David. Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,565
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Try DFU'ing?
  8. Just_For_Now

    Just_For_Now Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Hm thats wierd, I dont remember but yeah like drat said try dfu mode.
  9. tomrogers69

    tomrogers69 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    If nothing at all works for you to restore, try downgrading to itunes 7.4 then custom adding 1.1.1 firmware, then upgrade back to 3.0, it worked for me
  10. wearmaize

    wearmaize Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,442
    Likes Received:
    13
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    If you have iTunes 8.2, I remember that there were problems with that. How about downgrading to 8.1? Not sure for a PC, but here's a guide: http://mrgeckosmedia.com/support/thread/6

    Has to do with iPod linux (always fun) but I don't see why it won't work with 8.1 or .0. Then, a downgrade should work without issue.

Share This Page