Is this possible?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Schei3e, Jun 9, 2009.

  1. Schei3e

    Schei3e New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    If i were to obtain the Iphone 3GS 3.0 firmware and install it on my iphone 3G do you think, first, that it would work, and second, that i would have all the extra features? are the new features really hardware? or is some of it just software? cause i know the iphone 3G can record video...
  2. DrewGzy

    DrewGzy Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,205
    Likes Received:
    10
    Hell give it a try; Worse case is you brick your iPhone.

    Why not wait until the 3.0 is officially released?
  3. Nburnes

    Nburnes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,023
    Likes Received:
    767
    Device:
    OnePlus One
    Honestly people are dumb.

    3G firmware is made for 3g specifically.

    3GS firmware is made for 3GS specifically.

    The 3GS isn't even out, so please explain how you got the firmware for it......
  4. jtjordan

    jtjordan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (White)
    he didnt say he has it....yet
  5. Schei3e

    Schei3e New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    No i do have 3.0 on my iphone 3G. but the 3G version. And i know they are made specifically for each device. But seeing as how each device is very similar i'm sure there is a way to load the 3GS firmware onto a 3G and at least get the video camera to work...
  6. eric_chaos

    eric_chaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,746
    Likes Received:
    35
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Doubt it.

    3GS has a different camera than 3G
  7. Ari.

    Ari. Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3,347
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPad
    yah its basically liek trying to install ipod touch gen 2 firmware on 1st gen, it won't work.

    plus apple make it so you can't install it on the wrong device, even if you change firmware name. :/

    nice idea though, but if u want voice control feature then im sure it can be ported to iphone 3g once people have access to 3gs.
  8. BMatt

    BMatt New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    727
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    The 3G and the 3GS are similarly cosmetically, but like Leopard and Snow Leopard, they are different mechanically.

Share This Page