Is there any way I can get more RAM?

Discussion in 'Mac & OS X' started by Rainstar182, Dec 26, 2009.

  1. Rainstar182

    Rainstar182 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Alright so I got the Mac Box Set this Xmas and my laptop only has 512 MB of RAM. And 1GB is req. to upgrade to Snow Leopard. Is there anyways I can get more RAM onto my laptop.
  2. Nburnes

    Nburnes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,023
    Likes Received:
    767
    Device:
    OnePlus One
    What kind of Mac are you running on 512mb of RAM?
  3. Rainstar182

    Rainstar182 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Yes 512mb of RAM.
  4. Chicken

    Chicken Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,494
    Likes Received:
    7
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    He said WHAT KIND of mac are you running.
  5. Rainstar182

    Rainstar182 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Intel Mac OS X 10.4 Tiger 512MB of RAM.
  6. Shedoara

    Shedoara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,167
    Likes Received:
    494
    Device:
    iPad
    He's talking about what kind of Mac by... MacBook Pro or Mac Mini. And I don't know how, sorry!

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  7. Rainstar182

    Rainstar182 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    2006 Macbook
  8. leadergo

    leadergo Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,384
    Likes Received:
    6
    stop by at a electronics store like Best Buy, Futureshop, and pick up a couple of 1GB RAM sticks.

    then take out the battery, and there is a shiny silver cover that has 3 screws. get those screws off, and you should be able to access two slots of memory. remove the existing RAM sticks by sliding the lever.

    heres the tricky part: knowing when the RAM stick actually attaches to the circuit board. when you insert the RAM inside, there is no trick to really getting it in there. just make sure you apply steady, hard pressure until it sticks in there fully (it may require a bit of finger strength). after you have inserted both RAM sticks, put the shiny silver cover back on and the battery back on. power up your MacBook and voila.

    if you need more clarity, www.ifixit.com has a good tutorial with pictures (yes, OMG) and will show you how to do it as well.

    hope that helps.

Share This Page