Is there a way to upgrade my CPU speed on my laptop?

Discussion in 'Computing, Science, and Technology' started by Joshsipod1994, Jan 8, 2010.

  1. Joshsipod1994

    Joshsipod1994 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I recently got the game The sims: life stories for my dell inspiron mini. My laptop meets all the requirements for the game except for CPU speed. I need at least 1.8 and my speed is 1.6 GHz. So what i would like to know is, is there a way to upgrade my CPU speed with out messing up my brand new laptop? thanks
  2. taptaptouch

    taptaptouch Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,006
    Likes Received:
    11
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    overclock?
  3. Joshsipod1994

    Joshsipod1994 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    im sorry, what does overclock mean?
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    oh wait nevermind, how do i do that?
  4. dunuck

    dunuck Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    No way!
    i would t recommend it even if it were happened to be possible

    overclock laptop is never a good mix/idea, you can fry you cpu, plus it would produce to much heat
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    tell me the brand, and the exact model of your laptop, and i will see if i can answer your question
  5. Nburnes

    Nburnes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    9,022
    Likes Received:
    767
    Device:
    OnePlus One
    Only certain laptops can overclock. Even those I wouldn't reccommend overclocking.
  6. mattym

    mattym New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    To be honest, try and get it to work without making any changes. I have a TV tuner for my moms HP Mini 311 that says its needs a 1.8, but that netbook is running the same 1.6 as you and the thing works fine. Granted the Mini311 has a nvidia ion chip as well, but id say give it a shot and see what happens.

Share This Page