Is there a way to UNjailbreak an iPod Touch

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by TexasJr, Sep 27, 2008.

1. TexasJr

TexasJr Member

Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Im planning to get an iTouch soon and I wanted to jailbreak it but I didn't really want to do it if I couldn't go back to regular firmware. Can I do it? if I do it and I go to the latest firmware, can I go back to 1.1 to jailbreak it again?
  2. *Soul~Of~iTouch*

*Soul~Of~iTouch* New Member

Device:
    iPod touch
    2.X can be jailbroken, Google for how to do it, you should learn to use the "Search" function.
  3. f1av0rflave

f1av0rflave Banned

yeah, just restore and it goes back to normal and as long as its not the 2g touch you can downgradeto whatever firmware you like
  4. TouchMeSoftly

TouchMeSoftly New Member

Just exactly... what is "jailbreaking and other sundry questions?"

I'm new at all of this, and would like to get some information, if I could. I've heard the term "jailbreaking," and kind of know what it is.. but am not exactly sure. What are the advantages of jailbreaking? Can you do more? And, how and where do you get your "original" firmware back should one decide that they were "sorry" that they didn't STAY in jail? hehe

I, originally, bought the 2.0 firmware from Apple on iTunes, but was unable to download it because I live in BFE and am only able to get dial-up (don't faint!) out here. I would "time out" in trying to download it. I tried doing it from a DSL account from the library, but that didn't work, either. I would "time out" on how long I could be on their computers! Criminy! I finally got it through an "illegal" source, but I didn't feel like I was "cheating" anyone or "stealing" it, as I HAD already paid for it. Finally, I got firmware 2.0 installed and was able to finally get other programs to work. I dread any future updates, of which I hear there IS another-- 2.1?? (My iTunes doesn't confirm that... it says there "are no updates.")