Is it possible to make an icon that takes up 70% of the screen and still works?

Discussion in 'iOS Themes and Customization' started by itouchnathan, Feb 15, 2009.

  1. itouchnathan

    itouchnathan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Is it possible?

    For Example something like this that actually works:

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  2. 42395_skyline

    42395_skyline Community Development Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    10,912
    Likes Received:
    489
    Device:
    iPhone 6
    wow that pic is so fake. the AM on the clock should say "AM" not "a.m.". but maybe itz possible to make a icon that big.
  3. itouchnathan

    itouchnathan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    It's not a fake image.
    It's a theme but it doesnt work well.
  4. lightningdude

    lightningdude New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Yeah, that status bar clock can easily be tampered with. Sorry, Nathan. I would assume that the large icon wouldn't work mostly because of how the springboard is set up.

    The fact that you would need to create blank apps to put spaces between icons is all I'm basing my hypothesis on.
  5. Akskater009

    Akskater009 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    I actually think that it might work, because for fun I took a picture from my camera roll and put it as an icon, and it worked. so i assume that it'll work in your case. but yes you will need to use blank icons.
  6. Bwopp

    Bwopp Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    You spelt photos wrong :O

    You would need blank icons
  7. Sarcasm Siempre

    Sarcasm Siempre New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    /facepalm
    Maybe because it's in a different language?

    Anyway, you could do it, you'd just need a lot of blank apps. Plus, you'd have to tap on a certain area of the icon to open the app, because the iPod is "used to" (for lack of a better term) 60x60 icons, which means that if you don't tap on a certain area of the big icon it will think you're trying to open one of the blank apps. Don't know if that made much sense...
  8. giannaros

    giannaros New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    I think that sometimes, if you have a HUGE icon, you might get a SWOD. I'm not sure though, I just heard it somewhere in iPTF.
  9. foppinanrockin

    foppinanrockin Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
  10. SolarFlare

    SolarFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    This totally works. I've done stuff like this before. I had an icon for my iPtF webclip that filled the whole page (minus the dock of course).

Share This Page